Singapore & Asian Film News Portal since 2006

Panasonic Digital Film Fiesta is back!3 min read

5 December 2009 3 min read


Panasonic Digital Film Fiesta is back!3 min read

Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Panasonic Digital Film Fiesta (DFF) has undertaken 10 young filmmakers in its Emerging Filmmaker Programme. In this mentorship programme, the young filmmakers are matched with experienced professionals who mentor them during the production of their short film.

The young filmmakers will provided Panasonic’s latest AVCCAM Camcorder AG-HMC41EU to shoot on so as to ensure High-Definition quality films.

The Panasonic Digital Film Fiesta is being recognized by the industry as a valuable platform for filmmakers to launch their careers thus industry partners are coming in to provide prizes.

The 10 short film will vie for prizes such as the AG-HMC41EU AVCCAM camcorder and other attractive product vouchers. Companies that have come on board to sponsor prizes include Adobe Southeast Asia, Sensys and local production house, Apostrophe Films.

“We want to recognise the most promising filmmaker and provide professional support for his/her upcoming film project.”

The Apostrophe Films Promising Young Filmmaker Award is SG$35,000 worth of production services. Executive in Charge of Production & Marketing for Apostrophe Films, Julian Lim says, “We want to recognise the most promising filmmaker and provide professional support for his/her upcoming film project. Overall we want to continuously motivate young filmmakers by making production resources available to him/her.”

Adobe Southeast Asia will be giving out the Adobe Master Collection and Adobe CS4 Production Premium, worth USD5,300 for the Best Editing award.
DFF is the digital filmmaking platform for those who want to take their careers to the next level. DFF launches its official website on 5 December

All films will be online for public viewing at Sinema Old School in late February 2010 and voting from early February 2010.

The judges for this year’s 10 short films are award-winning filmmakers Tan Pin Pin, Royston Tan, Kat Goh and Julian Lim, Executive in Charge of Production & Marketing of Apostrophe Films.

About Digital Film Fiesta 2010

Get an all-access pass into the film industry with the 3 edition of the Panasonic Digital Film Fiesta (DFF). The DFF aims to be the platform for digital media exposure and experience.

DFF is made up of 3 components this year –

  • The Emerging Filmmaker’s Programme;
  • 7th Fly By Night Video Challenge
  • Industry Talks and Seminars.

Participants of the Emerging Filmmaker Programme stand to win the AG-HMC41EU AVCCAM Camera by Panasonic valued at US$2,295 and over SGD$10,000 worth of Panasonic vouchers by joining the DFF Emerging Filmmaker’s Programme.

The judges this year include filmmakers Royston Tan (“881″, “12 Lotus”), Tan Pin Pin (“Singapore GaGa”, “Invisible City”) and Kat Goh (“Swimming Lesson”, which won both the Best Short Film and Best Director awards at the 2009 Singapore International Film Festival).

This is the first year that DFF is supporting the independent community-run project Fly By Night Video Challenge in its support of the growing film community.

About the Emerging Filmmaker’s Programme

The EFP is targeted at emerging filmmakers who are looking to bring their interest to the next level and tap into the experience of mentors to make their next short film. Ten filmmakers (finalists) are shortlisted to produce their short films under this competition and enter into a 10-week mentorship programme with established filmmakers in Singapore, who will serve as mentors to these filmmakers to guide them through their production.

Filmmakers were shortlisted based on the submission of (1) one short film that the applicant has directed previously, and (2) a written 1-page treatment of a short film that the applicant plans to make during this fiesta.

The mentors for DFF 2010 are filmmakers Chai Yee Wei, Yeo Lee Nah, Pok Yue Weng, Ric Aw and Victric Thng.

More information at: DFF10

Leave a comment

%d bloggers like this: